Being convicted of a DWI in Louisiana can carry very heavy consequences. Having an experienced attorney like Mr. Marcantel by your side, helping defend your rights, can make the difference between your freedom and jail time. Below you will find the minimum penalties and fines for being convicted of a DWI/DUI. Keep in mind these are the minimums, and many times a conviction will result in heavier ramifications than those listed below. If you have any questions, or would like to get a consultation on your case, please call criminal defense attorney Carson Marcantel at (225) 709-9000 now to get started.

What is the legal limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) in Louisiana?

If you are under 21, the BAC  limit is .02%.

If you are 21 or older,  the BAC limit is .08%.

If you are a commercial driver, the BAC limit is .04%.

What are the fines and penalties for a first DWI in Louisiana?

 FIRST DWI/DUI CONVICTION

A first time DUI/DWI will include the following :

  • 48 hours up to 6 months of jail time.
  • A fine of $1000. This fine does not cover court costs, fees and other surcharges incurred.
  • A License Suspension of ninety (90) days (6 months if you are under 21).
  • You may be required to attend an alcohol/substance abuse assessment and education program.
  • To reinstate your license, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.

What are the fines and penalties for a second DWI in Louisiana?

SECOND DWI/DUI CONVICTION

A second DUI/DWI offense will result in the following:

  • A minimum of 30 days up to a maximum of 6 months of jail time. If your first DWI was over a year prior, the 30 days is typically suspended to 48 hours. If this is your second conviction within 1 year of your first offense, you will face a minimum of 30 days in jail with no suspensions. If your BAC (blood alcohol level) was more than .15, you will be required to spend at least 96 hours in jail.
  • A fine of $1000. This fine does not cover court costs, fees and other surcharges incurred.
  • A License Suspension on 1 year. You may be eligible for a restricted license 30 days after the start of your suspension.
  • You will be required to obtain an SR22 insurance policy which must be kept active and on record for 3 years. You will also be required to participate in a driving school before being able to receive your license again
  • Up to 240 hours of community service

What are the fines and penalties for a third DWI?

 THIRD DWI/DUI CONVICTION

A third DUI/DWI offense will result in the following:

  • A mandatory 45 days of jail time. You can be sentenced up to 5 years for your third conviction.
  • A fine of $2000. This fine does not cover court costs, fees and other surcharges incurred.
  • Your license will be suspended for 2 years.
  • 240 hours community service
  • Required to attend substance abuse program

As you can see, being convicted of a DWI in the state of Louisiana can hold heavy consequences. Let attorney Carson Marcantel stand by your side and help fight for your rights and freedom. Contact him today to learn how he can help you fight your case.